This is why we love Cap

I had no intention of making my first real post about a comic.

However, I just read Siege #1 and couldn’t help but remark on the last panel.

At risk of spoiling too much … Norman Osborn and his evil Avengers are invading Asgard (which is now hovering in Oklahoma). Thor arrived to intervene, and was taken out by a massive team of Osborn’s most powerful agents. Captain America was watching it happen on CNN, and this is what we see when the announcement comes that Thor is down:

Looking at that picture, you almost feel bad for Norman. Yes, Cap has nothing like Thor’s level of power. To tell the truth, though, I wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of that glare! The Star-Spangled Avenger means business.

I’ve been out of the comics scene for several years — since shortly after the Kree-Shi’ar War, in fact. I’ve been looking for a jumping-on point for some time, having heard of various major plotlines. The return of Cap and the Siege story is that opportunity. My eldest son and I are exploring it together.

This should be fun.

Leave a Reply

