Geek Romance

(Reposted from my former blog, 11-14-2008)

I’ve recently had occasion to think of this story, and I now feel compelled to share it. First, though, I must tip the hat to brotherhank at Lawn Gospel for bringing it to mind.

It’s worth looking at that post (it won’t take long) before going on here.

I’m reminded of one of the first dates my now-wife and I had. We were eating onion rings, and she was looking for one that had extra batter in a line across the middle. She explained that they remind her of the Greek letter theta. For those who don’t know, this is theta:

theta

I handed her the appropriately-shaped onion ring, and she took a bite. I then looked up and said, “I guess I’ll call you ‘zeta‘ now.”

Quite appropriately, this prompted a raised eyebrow and a cocked head, followed by a, “What?”

Naturally, I answered, “Because zeta eta theta.”

We laughed hysterically. If you don’t get it … well, … Zeta and I do have a somewhat-higher geek quotient than most people.

Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

